How NIJ Is Organized

NIJ is organized to align our internal structure and processes with the research needs of the field and the priorities of the Administration. We are led by a presidentially appointed director and are organized into seven offices — the Office of the Director and three science and three support offices. Two deputy directors have responsibility for the science and support offices respectively.

Each of the science offices is composed of scientists from specific groups of scientific disciplines — social and behavioral scientists, forensic scientists, and physical scientists and engineers. While our science offices are organized into specific focus areas for administrative purposes, they operate in a multidisciplinary and collaborative way.    

NIJ’s science offices include:

  • The Office of Investigative and Forensic Sciences — improves the quality and practice of forensic science through innovative solutions that support research and development, testing and evaluation, technology, and information exchange. 
  • The Office of Research and Evaluation — develops, conducts, directs and supervises social and behavioral science research and evaluation activities across a wide variety of issues. 
  • The Office of Science and Technology — manages technology research and development, development of technical standards, testing, and technology assistance to state and local law enforcement and corrections agencies.

NIJ’s support offices include:

  • The Office of Communications — works closely with all NIJ colleagues and grantees to move NIJ-generated knowledge and tools into the hands of those working in criminal justice professions.
  • The Office of Grants Management — works in conjunction with NIJ’s scientists and award recipients throughout the grant lifecycle to facilitate the successful completion of grant-funded projects.
  • The Office of Operations — provides leadership in the planning, development, management and administration of all lines of business.
Date Modified: February 5, 2016